2011 ATLFF Jury and Audience Award Winners

We're proud to announce the Jury Award Winners for the 2011 Atlanta Film Festival!

Narrative Feature

WINNER - “Prairie Love” Director: Dusty Bias

HONORABLE MENTION – “Without” Director: Mark Jackson


Jay Wade Edwards Editor-Producer for Adult Swim Writer-Director of Stomp! Shout! Scream!

Dr. Nate Kohn Professor, Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication at University of Georgia

George Lefont President, Lefont Theaters

Documentary Feature

WINNER - "An African Election” Directors: Jarreth J. Merz, Kevin Merz

Richard Steiner VP of TCM Digital & New Media, Turner Classic Movies

Tom Karsch Former Executive Vice President and General Manager of TCM and Turner South

Bob Longino Creative Director at Habitat for Humanity International and former movie reporter and critic for the Atlanta Journal-Constitution

Pink Peach Feature

WINNER - “Bear Nation” Director Malcolm Ingram


Dan  Brown Creative Director, CNN Marketing and On-Air Promotion

Tammy Hurt Owner, Placement Music

Narrative Short

WINNER – “The Strange Ones” Director: Christoper Radcliff & Lauren Wolkstein

HONORABLE MENTION – “Clear Blue” Director: Lindsay MacKay


Matt Goldberg Managing Editor, Collider.com

Abe Mohammodione Festival Director, Campus MovieFest

JD Hughman Assistant Director, Directors Guild of America

Documentary Short

WINNER – “Three Walls” Director: Zaheed Mawani


Pat Conner Former South Regional PR Director, HBO

Kris Bagwell Executive Vice President, Screen Gems

Scot Benson President, Benson Company

Pink Peach Short

WINNER - “Love Is All You Need?” Director: K. Rocco Shields


Dan  Brown Creative Director, CNN Marketing and On-Air Promotion

Tammy Hurt Owner, Placement Music

Animated Short

WINNER - “The Renter” Director: Jason Carpenter


Eddie Von Meuhler Author & Guest Lecturer, Emory Film and Media Studies

Matt Maloney Independent Animator and Professor and Chair of Animation at the Savannah College of Art and Design.

Keith Crofford Vice President of Production, Adult Swim

Ovation/Xfinity Audience Award Narrative Feature

WINNER - "Sahkanaga" Director: John Henry Summerour

Ovation/Xfinity Audience Award Documentary Feature

WINNER - "Disabled But Able To Rock" Director: Blake Myers

Career Achievement Award

George Lefont - George Lefont was the recipient of this year’s Career Achievement Award to commemorate his 35th year of supporting the independent perspective by showcasing innovative and cutting-edge filmmaking through Lefont Theatres.