Submissions for the 2019 ATLFF Screenplay Competition are Open, But Not For Long!

The Call for the 2019 Screenplay Competition is now open! From April 4 to April 14, 2019, we will be celebrating our 43rd anniversary and we need your help to make it our best yet. 

For the 2019 ATLFF Screenplay Competition, we are looking for innovative and compelling storytelling, characters that surprise and challenge you, words that pop off the page, and narratives that twist and turn like a country back road. This year, we’re accepting feature scripts, short scripts, and pilot scripts—and you’re more than welcome to submit in all categories. 


Screenplays must comply with category requirements and filmmakers must complete the process and payment to be considered for ATLFF '19. Have questions? Check out our Screenplay Submissions FAQ.

The 2019 Screenplay Prize Package

1 Short Film Screenplay and 1 Pilot Screenplay will win a one-on-one consultation with an industry professional in their genre. These opportunities are designed to give our winners the chance to sit down and talk about the next steps for their script, discuss paths for jump starting or furthering their career, and develop a connection with someone who can serve as a mentor on future projects. 

3 Feature Screenplays will win all expenses paid trip to our annual Screenwriter Retreat, which offers our winners the chance to sit down with industry mentors and workshop their screenplay one-on-one during a two day retreat. This workshop is one of our most lauded successes and gives our winners invaluable experience that will help bolster not only their current screenplay but their future work as well. 

Previous Mentors include: 
Kathryn Dean Producer (Winter’s Bone, Hell or High Water, The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks) 
Diane Drake Screenwriter, UCLA professor, and former VP of Creative Affairs at Mirage Enterprises (Only You, What Women Want)
Robin M. Henry Writer (Meet the Browns, House of Payne, East Los High), Producer (East Los High, Kevin Hart's Guide to Black History)
Michael Lucker Screenwriter/Emory Professor (Vampire in Brooklyn, Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron)
Kent Osborne Head of Story (Adventure Time), Writer (Spongebob Squarepants), Voice Director (Steven Universe, Adventure Time)
J.T. Petty Video Game Writer (Outlast, Outlast 2, The Walking Dead: The Game, Splinter Cell, Batman Begins)
James Ponsoldt Director (Smashed, The Spectacular Now, End of the Tour, The Circle), Writer (Smashed,  The Circle)

All of our winners will also receive an invitation and complimentary an All-Access badge to the 2019 Atlanta Film Festival.